Nothing Changes, If Nothing Changes.

Image

Nothing Changes, if Nothing Changes. Five simple words, yet when these words are strung into a sentence, it creates such a powerful sentence. In this post, I want to talk about how to be in the best relationship ever; with yourself. Exactly one year ago, I was “living the dream”. Or so I thought I was.. I was 22 years old, getting drunk 4 nights a week at my fraternity, had awesome friends (because I paid for them obviously) and had meaningless sex with random sorority girls. I was accepted into my Universities study abroad program, so in January I was off to spend the next six months in Australia. Leaving behind my life, and a girl I was starting to get serious with. Long story short, I missed my old life back home, and didn’t seize the opportunities I had in a foreign country. I was so homesick, that I actually developed a mild depression. Well after a long six months, June finally had arrived, and I was headed back to The United States of America. However, when I got back to America, nothing was the same. My friends had either transferred or moved away, the fraternity wasn’t the same, and I was still dealing with this depression. The only thing that I really had going for me was the girl I was previously seeing, was still dating me, but it was starting to unravel due to many reasons, but I like to blame it on that b*tch called depression. That is one awful, terrible thing to have to endure, but the bright side is you can beat it, or at least take control of it. From when I returned home from Australia, till this day, nothing has been the same. So not only am I writing this for myself, but to give some advice to anyone that ever feels like they are in the middle of a storm. These tips will help you weather this storm and get you back to being in a great relationship, with yourself.

Time: I want to start off this section with a quote from William Penn, “Time is what we want most, but what we use worst.” Time is always moving, and one day we will die. Our time will be over, but the time continues ticking. Time relates to everything, from work, to classes, to relationships. You need to use your time wisely because the clock is ticking, and that is something that you will never get back. You need to stop putting things off till the last minute, or put in effort in your relationship when the time is running out, and your boyfriend or girlfriend is tired of waisting their time. Plan your day out, plan your week out, plan your month out. Use your time wisely, and effectively. Its amazing to see how much you can get done when you plan your time out accordingly.

Family: Family is your blood. Your family will always be there for you, and never turn their back fully on you. Gen-y focuses more on the party and their social life, than giving mom a call to thank her for the money she just put in your account. Your family will always be there for you, and we are at the age where we need to start showing them the respect that they give us. Back to managing time, you most likely have more time left on this planet than your parents, so make sure to tell them how much you love them before it’s too late.

Boyfriend/Girlfriend: Despite what people think or say, having a significant other is awesome. Its awesome to have someone who cares about you, and has consistent sex with you, or can cheer you up when you are having a bad day. Recently my girlfriend just dumped me, (which has motivated me to write this, and get my life back on track) but one of the main reasons was I was getting too comfortable with her. Show the person you love them, each and every day. Never let them go to sleep sad or pissed off. Always remember that others would kill to have your significant as theirs. So treat them like they deserve.

Work Ethic: This has almost been beaten to death, but Gen-y needs to understand that whether it is class, or working your part time job, work hard. Your work ethic will be with you for life, so its time to start working on whatever task you have as well as you can. Another quote was by Will Smith “”You don’t set out to build a wall. You don’t say ‘I’m going to build the biggest, baddest, greatest wall that’s ever been built.’ You don’t start there. You say, ‘I’m going to lay this brick as perfectly as a brick can be laid. You do that every single day. And soon you have a wall.” Treat each day as that day to lay a brick. Complete your tasks or assignments diligently, and the best of your ability.

Friends: Your friends will always be there for you, and you need to be there for them. Stop waiting to talk, and actually listen to what they have to say.

Hobbies/Activities: After reading this article, and a couple others, get outside. Go do what you enjoy. Personally for me going to the gym is not only a stress reliever, but I enjoy it. Find something that you love to do, and makes you feel good about yourself.

Don’t let yourself go: Be active, put good things in your body, try to avoid the bad as much as possible. Small steps at first, lay those bricks as perfectly as you can

Closing thoughts: Life is crazy, and we have one shot at it. It is the one thing that is uncontrollable that can change drastically in a couple months, down to even a couple seconds. Get motivated, go get what you want, and enjoy YOUR life

Leave a Reply

